Baker Mayfield wins Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards

Baker Mayfield is the massive favorite for the Heisman on Saturday night. (AP Photo/Sue Ogrocki, File)

Baker Mayfield’s march to the Heisman is stopping to collect some hardware.

The Oklahoma quarterback took home the Davey O’Brien award for best quarterback and Maxwell Award for best overall player during Thursday night’s college football awards show. Mayfield will very likely win the Heisman on Saturday night over Stanford running back Bryce Love and Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, the player who won the Heisman a year ago.

Mayfield is 262-369 passing for 4,340 yards, 41 touchdowns and five interceptions. That’s a completion percentage of 71 percent and he’s averaging nearly 12 yards per pass attempt. He’s also rushed for 310 yards and five touchdowns.

Mayfield wasn’t the only two-time award winner Thursday night. Alabama cornerback Minkah Fitzpatrick won the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the best defensive back, and followed it up with the Bednarik Award, which is given to the best overall defensive player. He won that over NC State DE Bradley Chubb and Georgia LB Roquan Smith.

Love won the Doak Walker Award, which is given to the best running back in college football. Oklahoma State wide receiver James Washington won the Biletnikoff Award, which is given to the best wide receiver.

Davey O’Brien Award (Best QB): Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
• Jim Thorpe Award (Best DB): Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama
• Lou Groza Award (Best K): Matt Gay, Utah
• Mortell Award (Best Holder): Connor McGinnis, Oklahoma
• Biletnikoff Award (Best WR): James Washington, Oklahoma State
Doak Walker Award (Best RB): Bryce Love, Stanford
Ray Guy Award (Best P): Michael Dickson, Texas
Outland Trophy (Best Interior Lineman): Ed Oliver, Houston
Bednarik Award (Best Defensive Player): Fitzpatrick
Maxwell Award (Best Player): Mayfield

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is a writer for Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!