Christopher Bell wins truck title as Chase Briscoe wins race

Christopher Bell (4) drives out of Turn 4 ahead of Noah Gragson (18) during a NASCAR Trucks series auto race at Phoenix International Raceway, Friday, Nov. 10, 2017, in Avondale, Ariz. (AP Photo/Ralph Freso)

Christopher Bell finished second to Chase Briscoe Friday night at Homestead-Miami Speedway to win the 2017 Camping World Truck Series title.

Bell finished the highest among himself, defending champion Johnny Sauter, Matt Crafton and Austin Cindric, the four drivers racing heads-up for the truck title. Sauter was some 14 seconds behind Bell in third at the end of the race. The race’s only two cautions came thanks to stages and Briscoe was able to sprint away over the course of the third stage.

The win is Briscoe’s first of his NASCAR career and comes in Brad Keselowski Racing’s final race as a team. Keselowski announced earlier this season that he would be shutting his truck team down and proceeding with a yet-to-be-announced venture. BKR fields trucks for Briscoe and Cindric.

Bell is a very worthy champion. He won five races, finished in the top five on 15 different occasions and had a whopping 21 top-10 finishes over the 23-race season. Bell, 22, is moving to the Xfinity Series where he’ll drive for Joe Gibbs Racing in 2018.

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is the editor of Dr. Saturday and From the Marbles on Yahoo Sports. Have a tip? Email him at or follow him on Twitter!