Famous Kyoto-Based Coffee Shop Debuts in This American City

·2 min read

Fans of Kyoto, Japan—you're not ready for this. The famous % Arabica coffee shop has officially opened its doors in Dumbo, Brooklyn today, making it the first location to debut in the U.S.

Founded in 2013 by Kenneth Shoji in Hong Kong, the flagship store opened its doors in Kyoto the following year. It has rapidly grown in popularity ever since. Described by Eater as "Japan's cult-favorite hit coffee shop," % Arabica is known for its specialty coffee, sleek interior, and famously long lines outside of its 87 locations among 17 countries.

Now, those living or visiting near Brooklyn's Dumbo neighborhood have the opportunity to sip on the many roasts the Japanese specialty coffee brand offers. The % Arabic DUMBO Roastery is located right at 20 Old Fulton Street.

% arabica
% arabica

Known for both its blended and single-origin coffee such as the % Arabica Blend and Ethiopia Guji Wolichu Wachu beans, all of the beans are roasted on-site. They're exclusively sourced from small farms, too. The Kyoto-based coffee shop will offer espresso, Chemex brew coffees, specialty signature drinks as well as both sweet and savory pastries from the renowned SoHo bakery, Balthazar.

Located just steps away from the East River waterfront, the Brooklyn shop will have some of the same, notable features found on the inside of % Arabica locations around the world. This includes a clean, white aesthetic, glowing white neon sign, and counter seating.

arabica
arabica

The Brooklyn coffee shop will be home to a customized Slayer espresso machine, Probat roaster, and Tornado King roaster, too. This way, customers don't have to wait long to get their cup of java. Other drinks include a matcha latte, Spanish latte, lemonade still, and affogato, just to name a few.

For interested Brooklyn or Manhattan dwellers, or those who are just passing through, % Arabica DUMBO Roastery is now open daily from 6 a.m.-7 p.m.

For more, be sure to check out Here's What Happens When You Combine Coffee With Your Protein Shake, According To Experts.