Here’s the Kansas Jayhawks’ depth chart for Friday’s football game against Illinois

The Kansas Jayhawks have their first real test of the season on Friday against Illinois.

After defeating Missouri State 48-17, the Jayhawks face an Illinois team that survived a 30-28 thriller over Toledo.

The Illini are projected to finish fourth in the Big Ten West, according to media covering the conference.

On Monday, Kansas released its second depth chart of the season. Notably, quarterback Jalon Daniels, who missed the opener due to a back injury, still isn’t guaranteed to start (the depth chart may not reflect the most current injury information).

KU’s starting offense


1. Jalon Daniels OR Jason Bean

Running back

1. Devin Neal

2. Daniel Hishaw Jr. OR Dylan McDuffie OR Sevion Morrison OR Torry Locklin

Wide receiver

WR1 (X)

1. Lawrence Arnold

2. Tanaka Scott

WR2 (Z)

1. Quentin Skinner

2. Trevor Wilson


1. Luke Grimm

2. Doug Emilien

Tight end

1. Mason Fairchild

2. Trevor Kardell OR Jared Casey

Offensive line

Left tackle

1. Dominick Puni

2. Logan Brown

Left guard

1. Armaj Reed-Adams

2. Kobe Baynes OR Nolan Gorczyca


1. Mike Novitsky

2. Dre Doiron

Right guard

1. Michael Ford Jr.

2. Spencer Lovell

Right tackle

1. Bryan Cabeldue

2. Calvin Clements

KU’s defensive starters

Defensive end

1. Hayden Hatcher

2. Austin Booker OR Patrick Joyner Jr.

Defensive tackle

1. Devin Phillips

2. Gage Keys OR Caleb Taylor

Defensive tackle

1. Tommy Dunn Jr. OR D.J. Withers

2. Kenean Caldwell

Defensive end

1. Jereme Robinson

2. Dylan Brooks OR Davion Westmoreland


1. Taiwan Berryhill Jr.

2. J.B. Brown


1. Rich Miller

2. Cornell Wheeler


1. Craig Young

2. Jayson Gilliom


1. Cobee Bryant

2. Kalon Gervin


1. Mello Dotson

2. Damarius McGhee OR Kwinton Lassiter


1. Kenny Logan Jr.

2. Jalen Dye


1. OJ Burroughs OR Marvin Grant

KU’s special teams starters


1. Tabor Allen

2. Owen Piepergerdes


1. Seth Keller OR Owen Piepergerdes


1. Damon Greaves OR Grayden Addison


1. Luke Hosford

2. Emory Duggar

Punt returner

1. Trevor Wilson

2. Luke Grimm

Kick returner

1. Kenny Logan Jr. OR Trevor Wilson OR Sevion Morrison


1. Grayden Addison

2. Reis Vernon