Kyle Busch dominates for Coca-Cola 600 victory

Kyle Busch (18) drives his car out of Turn 4 during the NASCAR Cup Series auto race at Charlotte Motor Speedway in Charlotte, N.C., Sunday, May 27, 2018. (AP Photo/Chuck Burton)

Kyle Busch has now won at every track he’s raced at in NASCAR’s Cup Series.

Busch was unbeatable during Sunday’s Coca-Cola 600 and scored his first points win at Charlotte Motor Speedway. The win means there’s not one track

on the Cup schedule where Busch hasn’t won at. It’s an impressive feat; no other driver in the Cup Series can claim such an accomplishment. Busch led 377 of the races 400 laps.

Busch started on the pole and lost the lead early to Joey Logano. That was about the only time he didn’t have he lead. He won each of the first three stages of the race and sprinted out to a nearly six-second win over defending Cup Series champion Martin Truex Jr.

Busch won the 2017 All-Star Race at Charlotte for his first win in a Cup Series car at the track. But it wasn’t a points win, so it didn’t officially count. Sunday does, and he now has 47 Cup Series wins spread across 23 Cup Series tracks.

For perspective, Richard Petty — the all-time Cup Series win leader with 200 — made five or more starts at five different tracks without a win. Busch has 13 or more starts at every track but Kentucky Speedway, so it’s not an apples-to-apples comparison. But Busch’s accomplishment is proof of how diverse he is as a driver.

With four victories, Busch is also just one win behind Kevin Harvick for the series lead. Harvick started at the back on Sunday and worked his way to the front in the first stage. But an apparent flat left-front tire forced Harvick’s car into the wall and he ended up finishing last. It was the first time in Harvick’s NASCAR career that he finished last.


Full results:

1. Kyle Busch
2. Martin Truex Jr.
3. Denny Hamlin
4. Brad Keselowski
5. Jimmie Johnson
6. Jamie McMurray
7. Kyle Larson
8. Kurt Busch
9. Alex Bowman
10. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
11. Chase Elliott
12. Clint Bowyer
13. Aric Almirola
14. Paul Menard
15. Daniel Suarez
16. Darrell Wallace Jr.
17. Matt Kenseth
18. Michael McDowell
19. Erik Jones
20. Kasey Kahne
21. Ty Dillon
22. Joey Logano
23. AJ Allmendinger
24. Ross Chastain
25. David Ragan
26. Corey LaJoie
27. Parker Kligerman
28. Landon Cassill
29. Chris Buescher
30. Jeffrey Earnhardt
31. Gray Gaulding
32. Timmy Hill
33. BJ McLeod
34. Austin Dillon
35. Ryan Newman
26. Ryan Blaney
37. Matt DiBenedetto
38. JJ Yeley
39. William Byron
40. Kevin Harvick

– – – – – – –

Nick Bromberg is a writer for Yahoo Sports.