Report: Wells Fargo ending sponsorship deal with PGA Tour after 2024 event at Quail Hollow

Wells Fargo will no longer sponsor the Wells Fargo Championship at Quail Hollow in Charlotte, North Carolina, according to a report from the Charlotte Business Journal.

In 2019, Wells Fargo signed a 5-year extension with the PGA Tour, but after next year’s playing, the popular event will need a new sponsor.

Several big names have won the Wells Fargo since 2003, including Tiger Woods (2007), Rory McIlroy (2010, 2015, 2021), Vijay Singh (2005), Jim Furyk (2006), Rickie Fowler (2012), Jason Day (2018) and Max Homa (2019, 2022).

McIlroy’s win in 2010 and Fowler’s win in 2012 were both player’s breakthrough wins on Tour.

Wyndham Clark, the tournament’s defending champion, went on to win the U.S. Open later that summer.

Wells Fargo wanted to stay aboard but wasn’t willing to pay the asking price, according to Josh Carpenter from the Sports Business Journal.

Last November, Golfweek was first to report Honda was ending its relationship with the Tour after 2023.

Story originally appeared on GolfWeek